Your Name*
Email Address
Your email address appears to be invalid. Would you like to correct it?
Enter you name, email address and your question or message and click Send Message.
First Name
Last Name
Your Email Address
Your Question or Message
Your message was sent. We will get back to you via email as soon as possible.
You are Here: Home -> Forums -> General Discussion about Chickens -> chick survival rate

Topic: chick survival rate (14 messages)

Search:
Account Login
(You must be logged into your McMurray Hatchery
Account in order to post in the forums.)
chick survival rate (14 messages)
Posted By Message Posted On Report
ROBERT21
Score: 5
I live in Malvern, AR i ordered 17 rarest of the rare chicks. They are now one month old however only 12 have survived. Is this a good survival rate?
I'm new at raising chicks, any comments are welcome! thanks!
7/4/2013 12:59 PM report abuse
TINAC
Score: 116
how many died at arrival or within the first few days? most loss is right away --- if you are just now loosing them - then something is wrong- are they able to get to their water easily? are you finding them dead? (are there signs of critters getting to them?) the rarest of rare may be a little harder to raise - I am not sure of that -
7/4/2013 2:05 PM report abuse
ROBERT21
they all arrived alive! three died the first night, the fourth died about a week later. The fifth one died 2 days ago. They have plenty of water (two 1 gallon chick waters, mixed with a chick starter) and one 22 holed chick feeder (water and feed changed every day) The 12 chicks that are left seem to be really healthy, growing getting bigger no feather loss.
7/6/2013 1:19 AM report abuse
TINAC
Score: 116