Your Name*
Email Address
Your email address appears to be invalid. Would you like to correct it?
Enter you name, email address and your question or message and click Send Message.
First Name
Last Name
Your Email Address
Your Question or Message
Your message was sent. We will get back to you via email as soon as possible.
This browser is using a vulnerable connection, TLSv1. You need to upgrade your browser for security reasons.
We will be closed Dec 11th thru Jan 1st.
You are Here: Home -> Forums -> Health/Care -> Cornish Chicks Dying!! Help!

Topic: Cornish Chicks Dying!! Help! (7 messages)

Search:
Account Login
(You must be logged into your McMurray Hatchery
Account in order to post in the forums.)
Cornish Chicks Dying!! Help! (7 messages)
Posted By Message Posted On Report
LAURA16
Score: 1
I ordered the Meat-N-Egg combo and received all happy and healthy birds. At least that is what I thought. Since receiving my order I have lost 2 of my Cornish Rock chicks. As I am new to this hobby I am not sure as to why they are dying. I will check on the chicks and they all appear very lively, but when I go back to check them I find a dead chick. I have been watching for pasty butt and none have showed signs. They all should have been vaccinated for Cocidiosis and Mareks diease and I have been adding sugar to their water. As of now I will be watching their stool to see if that is out of the ordinary. I know losses are a normal part of life, but I am afraid of losing anymore. Is this a common problem in the Cornish breed? Any advice would be well appreciated!!!
10/9/2014 7:57 PM report abuse
LAURA16
Since this post I have lost yet another of my Cornish X Chicks. I don't want to blame the hatchery, but I am leery. Is this common with the breed?? Again any suggestions would be much appreciated!!
10/10/2014 11:35 AM report abuse
Claborn Family Farms
Score: 4
We raise thousands of chicks a year in Central Texas.